Second Draft


Nonsense, I Say.

Posted in Food,Uncategorized by Jill Snider Lum on Tuesday, April 13, 2010

What would you call a fantasy or science fiction cookbook?  You must understand that I am not in a particularly sane or sensible mood just now, so if you’re interested in a serious post, this blog is not your best choice today.  However, if you’re feeling less-than-profound, as I am today… what would you entitle a cookbook filled with recipes based on your favourite SF or fantasy stories?

I mean, for a cookbook based on the hard-boiled detective novels of John D. MacDonald, there is no possible title but The Dreadful Lemon Pie.  For a Regency romance-themed cookbook, you want April Ladyfingers.  For recipes based on cosy British mysteries, there’s Five Red Pickled Herrings, maybe, or Passage to Frankfurters.  So what about science fiction?  What about fantasy?

Surely you have better ideas than I do.  Must we be content with Lord of the Rings of Calamari, or Time Enough for Lunch?  No, I say,  You can do better, even in a silly mood.  Go ahead.  Make my soup — I mean, my day.

One Response to 'Nonsense, I Say.'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Nonsense, I Say.'.

  1. Michael Skeet said,

    Back in the late ’70s and early ’80s the Edmonton Science Fiction and Comic Arts Society (ESFCAS) published a trilogy of cookbooks called Stir Wars


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

