Second Draft


What I Did On My Summer Vacation

Posted in Uncategorized by Michael Skeet on Thursday, September 24, 2009

Apologies for the long (embarrassing) silence from this half of the team, and thanx to Jill for keeping us active.

In truth, it was a very busy summer, and I’m sorry that so little of it was spent writing Demon Gate. I’ll make a stronger effort to get back on track by, oh, October.

Most of the distractions preventing me from writing were caused by my day-job and aren’t relevant here. But there were other, more pleasant things keeping me away from this novel:

  • Worldcon, in Montreal, was both a pleasure and the busiest I’ve been, professionally speaking, at a con in a long time (if not ever). I hope to post at least once about the con, if only because one of my panels was directly related to what Jill & I are trying to do here. My biggest regret: not getting to eat at Au Pied de Cochon, an oversight I intend to correct within the next couple of weeks.
  • My annual retreat to the North Woods has turned into an intense writing fortnight, but our location is isolated enough that Intertubes connections are mostly theoretical… which makes it awkward to write a book whose existence is mostly in the cloud. I took advantage of the isolation to finish up two other novel projects…

…Which leads me into the big news to come out of the summer, which is that I now have an agent. I am pleased (okay, thrilled) to be working with Monica Pacheco at Anne McDermid & Associates, who has agreed to represent me. Thanks to Dave, who introduced us, and to borrow (and probably abuse) a line from him, here’s looking forward to a long and fruitful association.

Leave a Reply

