Second Draft


My Evolving Career

Posted in Promotion, Shameless by Michael Skeet on Tuesday, March 2, 2010

My latest story is officially available for purchase as of yesterday. EDGE has published Evolve, a triffic vampire anthology edited by Nancy Kilpatrick (no stranger to vampires she) and containing an interesting variety of modern tales of the undead.

My piece is called “Red Blues” and it is, I blush to admit, not the first vampire story I’ve had published. (That would be “Chains,” from a now out-of-print Barnes & Noble anthology called 100 Vicious Little Vampire Stories.) I would be disingenuous if I said I was a big fan of the vampire ethos—and don’t get me started on Twilight, please—and “Red Blues” was written almost in opposition to the perception of vampires as hot and sexy.

Call it “pre-emptively written,” because I actually wrote this story more than a decade ago, and Evolve isn’t the first time I’ve sold it. First time it’s actually made it into print, though. (A long story, and perhaps someday I’ll elaborate.) There’s certainly sex in this story, but the vampire itself is not sexy, if that makes any sense to you. Hell, buy the book and you’ll see what I’m talking about.

The official launch of the anthology is happening at this year’s World Horror Convention in Brighton, England, and I deeply regret that I had to cancel my appearance there. (Too much upcoming pain at my day-job; better you shouldn’t ask.) On the other hand, given my generally pathetic performance when it comes to promotion, perhaps it’s not such a bad thing that I leave this work to others. Perhaps I’ll send a sock-puppet in my stead…

One Response to 'My Evolving Career'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'My Evolving Career'.


  1. Hey Michael, thanks for posting about Evolve… 🙂

    For those of us in North America there will also be launches, including Ad Astra on April 10 ( 2-3:30 pm), and on April 9th at Worlds Biggest Bookstore in Toronto at 7pm.

    I am currently setting up launch events with authors in other parts of Canada as well. Information will be posted on the EDGE Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing Website, and on the EVOLVE facebook page, EDGE facebook page, and on http://www.vampires-evolve.com.

    Cheers!
    Janice


Leave a Reply

